Skip to main content

Annual Conference 2019

March 28–31, 2019

Marriott City Center, Dallas, TX

Proposal authors of accepted papers can use the tool below (scroll down) to see where they have been placed in the agenda. Note: Special Topics sessions - Only the submitter's name is searchable, not panelists. [If you wish an overview of the conference please click here: Conference Overview Agenda.

Please use this search form to:

To see the full agenda, leave all drop-downs blank, and simply click on "Search." Please note that there are some options you may select once you have searched. (Please do not be confused about something that looks like "1.1 Digital Advertising" as this is simply a title of a group of sessions.

Contact the AAA Conference Office to accept the session assignment, or to request a change due to a conflict. Call (727) 940-2658 x 2004 if you have questions. Please be sure to reference the session title(s), date(s) and time(s) if you contact us.

6.1a Audience’s Attention to the Youtube Pre-Roll Advertising: Eye-Tracking Approach

Saturday, March 30, 2019 at 2:00 PM–3:30 PM CDT
1-Normandy A

The current study investigates the viewers’ attention to the advertising contents and advertising avoidance contents using eye tracking method and examines the correlation of viewers’ attention between self-reported and eye tracking data. An experimental study with 59 participants reveals that key contents of commercial obtained the more frequency of fixation and longer time of fixation. The skip button in the screen was effective to steal viewers’ attention from the advertising contents. A significant correlation was found in skip button attention between eye tracking and self-reported data, but not in advertising attention. Details and interpretation were discussed further.

First & Corresponding Author

Doyle Yoon, University of Oklahoma
Authors in the order to be printed.

Doyle Yoon, University of Oklahoma; Ziho Kang, University of Oklahoma; Fuwei Sun, University of Oklahoma; Sang Chon Kim, University of Oklahoma

Additional Authors

Ziho Kang, University of Oklahoma
Fuwei Sun, University of Oklahoma
Sang Chon Kim, University of Oklahoma